strange sound for strange people
label - links - contacts - catalogue

"Selected Funbient Works 1-4"
aquarel 13-09

Dmitriy Tolmatskiy (1970-2009) - a journalist and musician from the city of Saratov (south of Russia), one of the first popularizers of the alternative intellectual culture and particularly industrial music in post-Soviet Russia. He was the creator of the RWCDAX website which had certain influence on the mindset of many modern personalities of Russian post-industrial art.

The musical project DMT was established in 1995 and released by the end of the 90s several limited-edition cassette albums, lapsing afterwards into silence for a while. In the mid-00s the project was revived, had some successful live gigs and recorded a lot of new material, part of which is presented on this double-CD "Selected Funbient Works 1-4".

Plans of this release existed for a long time but unfortunately were not implemented while the author was alive. His life cut short in the autumn of 2009. And now by joint efforts of the kultFRONT, ZHELEZOBETON, Aquarellist and Monochrome Vision labels, this release has become available for those interested. The album vividly displays the complex music world of DMT, which like everything innovative exists on the crossing of several musical styles and directions: from dark-ambient and industrial noise sketches to technoid rhythmics and pure sonic experiments.


2CD, limited edition 500 copies in digisleeve

disc one:
1. Frozen Forest 1
2. Dissolvation 2
3. Frozen Forest 2
4. Main Stream [mp3: fragment]
5. Preparation for the Mess
6. Walking through the H, pt. 2 [mp3: fragment]
7. Track #6 from "Funbient 3"
8. Walking through the H, pt. 4
9. Another Frozen Forest to Come [mp3: full track]
10. First Untitled Track from "Funbient 4"
11. Second Untitled Track from "Funbient 4"

disc two:
1. Third Untitled Track from "Funbient 4"
2. Some Little Outdoor Fears
3. Fourth Untitled Track from "Funbient 4"
4. Track #6 from "Funbient 2" 
5. On the Sacred Mountain
6. Going Out
7. An Evening on the Road
8. Walking through the H, pt. 6 
9. Roundance of Puppeteers
10. Preparation of a Mermaid
11. This Will Never Be the Same
12. Hard to Fly 
13. In the Jaw of the Fire
14. Fifth Untitled Track from "Funbient 4"